Collapsed mauls

When a maul goes to ground and is not deemed to be collapsed intentionally:

  1. There is no obligation for any players to release the ball or roll away.
  2. If the ball is available, play should continue. Availability would constitute that the referee can see the ball and the team in possession are in the process of recycling the ball.
  3. If the ball is not available, a scrum is awarded to the team that did not have possession of the ball at the commencement of the maul.


RICHARD EVERY  |  High Performance Referee Manager | USA Rugby
e:   c: 00 +1 773.895.6013
2500 Arapahoe Avenue, Suite 200 | Boulder CO 80302

Disciplinary Reporting procedure

Fellows Refs,

FYI. The Disciplinary Reporting procedure for these organisations if you ever officiate one of their matches and have Red or Yellow Cards, is as follows:

Fill in the USA Rugby Referee Disciplinary Form (attached)

Send to the Disciplinary Chair, same person, for each Organisation, Bill Brownley billbrownley

We will still continue to use our tried and faithful VRU system for everyone else, except the ACRL (which has already been addressed) until it is replaced by, more than likely a similar thing, a new system under the New Capital GU.