FYI, read, watch, and digest. Above all, have fun this season.
When a maul goes to ground and is not deemed to be collapsed intentionally:
- There is no obligation for any players to release the ball or roll away.
- If the ball is available, play should continue. Availability would constitute that the referee can see the ball and the team in possession are in the process of recycling the ball.
- If the ball is not available, a scrum is awarded to the team that did not have possession of the ball at the commencement of the maul.
RICHARD EVERY | High Performance Referee Manager | USA Rugby
e: firstname.lastname@example.org c: 00 +1 773.895.6013
2500 Arapahoe Avenue, Suite 200 | Boulder CO 80302